Thursday, July 15, 2010

Guess what? It Is Thursday. Let Me Light a Fire Under You


Guess what?

It's Thursday.

Bookanistas book review day! So in keeping with our new tradition, today I'm reviewing the ARC of FIRELIGHT.


Please be sure to visit the other Bookanistas participating today as well:



For my review, see below:

Yeah, not that far below.

FIRELIGHT by Sophie Jordan


Firelight_SophieJordan
Book blurb: Marked as special, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. When she breaks the most sacred tenet of her kind, she nearly pays with her life, only to be spared by a beautiful stranger sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki--a descendant of dragons whose ability to shift into human form is her best defense.


Forced to flee into the mortal world, Jacinda struggles to adapt. The one bright light is Will; Jacinda knows she should avoid him at all costs--Will and his family are hunters--but the passion he stirs within her can't be ignored, even if it means risking her life.... With this provacative tale of supernatural desire and danger, Sophie Jordan introduces readers to an exciting world that will appeal to fans of TWILIGHT, FALLEN, and EVERNIGHT.


Whoever designed this cover was a genius. I loved that this girl actually had a head and a (mostly) visible face. I get worn out sometimes with all the headless covers in YA. Still, you have no idea what this book is about because you can't see the body, but one glimpse at this (mostly) human face--the bright red hair, the glitter and the shine and the subtle scales--and you know that somewhere in there, there's some sparkly fantasy. I saw this cover and drooled just a little bit. It was enough for me to start coveting like a sinner.

I couldn't wait to dive into this book, and from page one, I was hooked. I mean, come on, a humanoid descendant of dragons saved by the dude who hunts her kind? Love it. Hunter falls for his prey? Okay, so I definitely got some TWILIGHT vibes there. So yes, TWILIGHT fans will probably like this book. 

(You know there's a giant BUT, right?)

BUT, while FIRELIGHT has the whole lion-falls-for-the-lamb bit going for it (a premise I think is brilliant, by the way), that's pretty much where the similarities end. For one thing, the female mc is the supernatural being, and a dragon-like shapeshifter at that. She has a special ability, too, and this ability creates a major conflict for her. Yet Jacinda has to deal with major responsibility, including the welfare of her mother and sister, so her own suffering has to be suppressed.

Overshadowing everything, however, is the romance with Will, which is just. so. dreamy....the lovers who have every reason to hate one another, but find themselves pulled to be together anyway--and yet their unchangeable identities make it impossible to be together. So Romeo and Juliet, no?

I loved the way the story played out. I can't say that I didn't suspect Jacinda and Will would fall for one another (eh hmmm, it IS a romance), but I did NOT see that end coming. Still, you'll want to read it for more than the end. I was captivated by the original handling of mythological concepts, the premise, the lively main characters, the interweaving of the paranormal and the reality-based setting, and the witty, genuine-feeling dialogue. I was sucked in from the start.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now, FIRELIGHT doesn't come out until September.

But guess what? I'll be giving away this ARC, too....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

37 comments:

  1. I've heard a few things about this book. Interesting, and the cover is beautiful. Nice review. Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yay! A YA paranormal/fantasy with a STRONG female protagonist! Count me in!!

    sf

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds genius ... but then again anything related to Dragons is ...

    Thanks so much Carolina!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is like Twilight, but SO MUCH EPIC-ER. ER. ERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

    My review's coming up beginning of August, but it is ZOMGLOVE.

    ReplyDelete
  5. You're right, most of those books are missing heads. What's up with that?

    ReplyDelete
  6. Wow, this novel seems awesome! What a cool idea being a descendant of dragons. I'm already loving that paranormal twist. Vampires, werewolves, and fairies are so last year. Bring on the dragons!

    Thanks for the review. I'm looking forward to reading this!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oooh, runs off to check something.... This books sounds great!

    ReplyDelete
  8. OMG this one sounds amazing too! Thank you for being generous about your giveaways! I am your number one fan right now.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Wow! Your review has me drooling to read this book - it sounds soooooooo good! Must.Read.It!!! :-)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Yep, I absolutely MUST read this. The cover already had me hooked, but this review has totally pushed me over the edge. Must. Read. NOW!!!! :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. I LOVE this book =) I finished it two days ago and I agree 100% with your review!!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Oh, that's right ... make me want to read it, then say I can't ... just yet.

    Seriously, it sounds like a great read. Try BLOODSUCKING FIENDS ... yes, it has a terrible title but a strong, redheaded female lead who does the best of a bad vampiric situation ... with bellylaughs. (and you can buy my suggested title!) Roland

    ReplyDelete
  13. Thanks for the review. I have to agree that the cover is great..it really draws me in and wants me to know more. I'm not sure yet if I'll really like the book or not. It sounds more entertaining to me than Twilight (which was just "eh" to me). I might check it out...or give it to my wife first and get her opinion. :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Sounds like my kinda book - paranormal romance with dragons!! Wonderful!

    Take care
    x

    ReplyDelete
  15. Oh boy! This book looks soooo good. Thanks for the review.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Sounds like a terrific book & I love the cover too! :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. OMG I want this sooo much! Thanks for the awesome review! :D

    ReplyDelete
  18. I want to read this book so much! It looks beautiful and sounds great.

    ReplyDelete
  19. i love the scales on her face - and the red hair...so dragonish :)

    ReplyDelete
  20. Oh man, are you a major book/arc-tease!

    And, yeah, that IS an awesome cover.

    I do have a bit of a secret thing for dragons...which makes this tres intriguing.

    Now I wanna win this one too!

    Have a yummy weekend, C.

    Love,
    Lola

    ReplyDelete
  21. That's so cruel...get us all fired up for a book that doesn't come out for MONTHS!

    I'm not the most patient person in the world...not by a long shot.

    ReplyDelete
  22. Great review. Definitely on my list!

    ReplyDelete
  23. I like the premise. And who doesn't like the lion falls for the lamb storylines? Also, I think its nice to read a book or two where the girl has the special abilities. It mixes things up.

    ReplyDelete
  24. I want this book desperately! I'll give you a virtual cookie for it! Oh, and I'll write how lovely you are on my blog!

    ReplyDelete
  25. I love a book where you don't see the end coming - sounds awesome!

    ReplyDelete
  26. Wow, I just loved that cover. Fell in love with the story too!

    ReplyDelete
  27. Firelight was a fantastic read the cover was brilliant! I was fortunate to have had the opporutnity to read it and I look forward to Sophie visiting my favorite bookshop Blue Willow so I can buy myself a copy and have it signed!!!

    Good luck to the one who snags a copy!

    ReplyDelete
  28. I thought the cover was interesting as well, but your review makes me want to read it now!

    ReplyDelete
  29. Carol--Great review! I love how you tell how it made you feel rather than a (standard) summary.

    The cover is awesome. I love her eyes!

    ReplyDelete
  30. Dragons and female protagonist and a great cover - now I have to start a future TBR list.

    Thanks for posting the review!

    ReplyDelete
  31. Oh! Pick me! Pick me! lol Sounds like an awesome book :)

    ReplyDelete

Make your comment stand out. Use bold words. Or italics. Whatever.